St. Mary’s Credit Union Promotes Petkewich to Executive Vice President

James F. Petkewich of Leominster, MA has been promoted to Executive Vice President, Retail Services at St. Mary's Credit Union. He previously served as Senior Vice President, Retail Services. Petkewich oversees the Credit Union’s Retail Branches, Member Solutions Center, and Facilities Department. He will chair the newly formed Member Experience Committee and is St. Mary’s BSA Officer and Security Officer. Jim is a long-term member of the Senior Management Team and also serves on the Credit Union’s Asset and Liability, Marketing, Compliance, and Real Estate & Facilities committees.

Jim’s focus on teamwork and member satisfaction has never been more rewarding than during the recent pandemic when St. Mary’s Retail staff led the organization to record setting member satisfaction ratings during a very unusual and trying year. He was instrumental in building three new branches for St. Mary’s in the past several years. He was also responsible for negotiating long term leases with multiple tenants, including a new partnership with a national brand at the rebuilt South Bolton Street branch location in Marlborough which opened earlier this year.

Jim has had an illustrious 38-year career in banking and financial services management—previously working at BayBank Middlesex, MetroWest Bank, and Kaeding, Ernst & Company, LPL, prior to joining St. Mary’s Credit Union in 2006.

Petkewich graduated from Providence College with a degree in Business Administration. Jim is an alumnus of the MetroWest Leadership Academy and the Marlborough Shamrocks Football Team where he is a member of the Century Club (for participation in over 100 games). He is also a past Board Member of the Marlborough Regional Chamber of Commerce and the United Way of MetroWest, and he has served on the Economic Development Committee of the Corridor Nine Chamber of Commerce. He has been a coach for the Special Olympics Massachusetts Nashoba Shooting Stars Ski Team since 2014 and is a former Board Member and President of both Leominster Pop Warner and The Leominster Blue Devils Football Club.